That Gum You Like

T-minus three days. (Ho boy.)

Posted in Pre-Departure by Dave on September 6, 2009

So it’s Sunday the 6th, and I leave for the land down under (no Men at Work (The video is worth it, I promise)) Wednesday and get there on Friday. So as you might imagine, I’m starting consider the reality of having to pack. It’s proving surprisingly difficult. It’s not clothes, electronics or anything else that I’m worried about. I’ll survive on the bare minimum of clothing, and beyond my computer and camera there’s nothing else that I think I would really want. The issue here is the truckload of books that I want to bring. One thing that has really driven this trip is the opportunity to do my own education for a little while, knocking down a few of the classics and required reading that I’ve never gotten around to. Until now, I hadn’t really considered the fact that this means I have to take all these books with me, and that books are going to take more space than anything else I want. A lot more. I made a few stacks today of things I thought I might want…

This is ludicrous.

Oh dear god.

So now I’m at the point where I’m picturing myself showing up in Sydney with my backpack, my super 8 camera (aw yeah), and a shipping container full of books. Anybody know a good sherpa?

D

P.S. Two of the tunes that have been getting me through this packing panic: (Apparently wordpress needs me to pay to upload songs, so I’ll have to figure that one out soon. I’ll just hit you with the linx for now.)

The xx – Basic Space

Trailer Trash Tracys – Candy Girl

Leave a Reply

